New Year’s Eve eve has me thinking…

So here we are at the end of another year.  I could sit and dwell on all of the things I should have accomplished.  I could fret over my failed gardening attempt, both indoors and out (so sorry, little fern.  I tried).  I could focus on all of the craft projects I was excited to start, and never started.  I could step on my scale and sigh, (heavy sigh) wondering how I ever let myself climb past the mark I said I’d never let myself reach.  Maybe I could lament the fact that our house might no longer be worth what we paid.  Maybe not even what we owe.  I could cry over my lost 401k.

What good would all of that do?

Instead, I’m going to try to focus on other things.  I’m not going to set ridiculous goals I know I won’t reach.  Otherwise, in December of 2009, I’ll be thinking about them all over again, and about how, once again, I didn’t make it.

I’m going to not think about my weight, instead I’m going to play the Wii Fit, and go for walks when I feel like walking.  Maybe I will go to a few aerobics classes with KT.  But I’ll go because it will be fun to hang out with her, not because I have a weight loss goal in mind.  We’re not selling our house yet, so, for now, it doesn’t much matter what it’s worth.  Nor am I retiring, so I’m not going to worry about the minus-401k.  I have a few bucks in savings.  I’m going to try to keep it there.  I’ve paid off some credit cards, so I’m not going to use them anymore.

I’m thinking about a vacation, this summer, at the beach.  Paid for with cash.  I’m thinking about getting another pug.  Paid for with cash.  I’m thinking about dumping some stuff off at the eBay consignment store down the road, because I know I won’t have the patience to sit and do it myself.  That will get me some extra cash, anyway.  More than I’m getting by storing all that stuff and lying to myself about how, one of these days, I’ll sit down and sell it online.  I know I won’t.

I guess I’m done fooling myself.  I’m done trying to be what I don’t want to be just because I think someone else thinks I should be.  They probably don’t anyway.  And even if they do, who cares?  They need to worry about their own lives.  Because that’s what matters anyway.  Your own life, and being happy in it.

So, I guess, my New Year’s resolutions are to pay cash, and stop trying to make change.  I’m just going to be who I am, and do what I like, and try what I want, when I want to try. And if someone else doesn’t like it, too bad for them.

~anastasia wants to know what your resolutions are.

Leave a Reply

