Weird things about me…

I have seen a couple posts lately with the subject of weird things about the author.  This got me thinking about my own weirdness.  Of which I have a lot.  I am going to now record some of my weirdness.

1.  I cut things out of magazines and newspapers and keep them.  This is one of my obsessions.  Unfortunately, it is an obsession that causes much clutter.  For example, my desk and file cabinet at work are covered with Dilbert cartoons (especially those which I feel relate directly to me – like Dogbert’s tech support), pug pictures (but not all are of my pug), and tropical pictures (so I can pretend I’m going on vacation).  It is actually quite messy.  I have a hard time throwing these things away, as if I’m going to need them some day, but I know I won’t need them.

2.  I cannot go to the bathroom if other people are around.  If I am in the bathroom, and I hear someone talking, I think “If I can hear them, then they can hear me, and if I do something they will know what I am doing.”  And this literally paralyzes me.  This has caused me great discomfort in the past, this freezing up of the parts necessary to relieve myself.  And yes, I do realize how ridiculous this is, because EVERYONE goes.  Everyone except me.

3.  I cannot function by myself.  This one is harder to explain.  I can work by myself, which I do, and I am productive at work.  I suppose I should say I cannot be alone for extended periods of time.  If I am home, and the Mr. is not, I can’t do anything.  I try to distract myself by doing things that I need to do, like sweeping or laundry, but I always end up sitting down and zoning out.  I don’t think this is a good thing, because I’m afraid of what would happen to me if I was suddenly and/or unexpectedly permanently alone.  I think I would just melt into my couch, dying of starvation or thirst because I would lose the motivation to feed myself.  Really.  I’m actually trying to work on this one, because I think it could have detrimental effects on me.

There’s more, but that’s all that comes to mind right now.

One response to “Weird things about me…

  1. I don’t mind the talking so much because it helps cover up other sounds you normally hear in a bathroom. But when it’s quiet and you know someone’s there and they know you’re there and you’re both just waiting for the other to leave first but neither of you is going to give in? It’s like bathroom chicken.

Leave a Reply

